TRANSLATIONS OF THE BIBLE

Posted on Updated on

Why I prefer the NIV (the 1982-1984 copies, not the newest translation)  over the NKJV and the KJV.  One example: In Psalm 119:86-88 the NKJV and KJV use poor grammar.  The noun and pronoun do not match. It sounds like in both, that God’s commandments are what is persecuting David. The NIV makes it clearer. You can get what it is saying by reading the Scriptures above…but in a sentence the noun and pronoun need to match. Some mistakenly think some English translations are a word for word translation. None of them are.  The English language many times does not have one single word for the Hebrew, Latin and Greek languages.  It takes several words at times to say the same thing.

“All Your commandments are faithful; They persecute me wrongfully; Help me! They almost made an end of me on earth, But I did not forsake Your precepts. Revive me according to Your lovingkindness, So that I may keep the testimony of Your mouth.”  Psalms 119:86-88  NKJV

All thy commandments are faithful: they persecute me wrongfully; help thou me.  They had almost consumed me upon earth; but I forsook not Thy precepts.  Quicken me after Thy lovingkindness; so shall I keep the testimony of Thy mouth. Psalm 119: 86-88  (KJV)

All your commands are trustworthy; help me, for I am being persecuted without cause.  They almost wiped me from the earth, but I have not forsaken your precepts.  In your unfailing love preserve my life, that I may obey the statutes of your mouth.  Psalm 119:86-88 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

