Day: August 30, 2011

The roads in our past mesh into our future.

Posted on Updated on

 Copied from my other blog that discontinued in July.

             Daniel about age 3, 1989

Of all the twists and turns our lives can take, it is amazing and delightful to see how our paths from the past, can cross…into our future.

When my dad had cancer and was having to take radiation, he had to go to a nursing home supposedly for 6 weeks. We went to visit him the first week and he was so ill at ease and when we left to go home, it just broke my heart to leave him. The second week, he had adjusted and even offered us all a Dr Pepper out of the home’s fridge. It was a little easier to leave him that time but it was still hard.

But that second week, Brother Trent, the preacher at the church where my dad was a member, told them to bring him back home and he and the other members would take turns taking him for treatments every day. It was 60 miles one way, so that was quite a commitment. They brought him home and they did that every day for the remainder of the six weeks. We lived 150 miles away and we are forever grateful for him and those church members. Brother Trent was also with us the day of my dad’s death in August 1978. He died on his birthday on the 15th about 10:00 A.M. Brother Trent made the remark that it would be interesting to know the time of day he was born…73 years earlier…but none of us knew.

I had written an article about my dad in 1977 and it was published in Christian Woman Magazine that year. It was about his struggles in raising three children ages 3-8 all by himself after our mother had died. I gave a copy of it to my dad and watched him wipe away the tears as he read it. I am so glad I wrote it in time for him to read it. But one day he told me that he let Brother Trent read it and he didn’t give it back to him. He had thought that my dad had given it to him.   I told him I had another copy and I’d send it to him. Later we found out why Brother Trent had kept it. They read it at Daddy’s funeral.

A few years ago a church member where our grandson was a member while in junior college, told him  she knew a girl he needed to meet…(her niece) Somehow they got them together…their love blossomed and grew and they set a date….and at the brunch the day before their wedding, I found out she is Brother Trent’s great-granddaughter. It was just an accident really that I learned that. I was talking with her grandmother and she mentioned the name Trent and her dad. I asked her if that was the same Trent that preached at Hinton, Ok in the early 70’s and she said yes, that was her dad.

It was such a joy to find out that little gem of information..and also Daniel finding that little gem of a mate…and Brother Trent would be happy to know that he has many faithful family members today. Brother Trent…like my dad…was one of the kindest, gentlest persons you would ever meet.  I wish Brother Trent and my dad could know of this union.  Perhaps they do.  :)    (The married couple is pictured below.)

                                                       The married couple, Shanelle and Daniel

TRAINING OUR CHILDREN

Posted on Updated on

I am so thankful that God gave us memory. Our memories will be (are) so comforting in our old age.

One night right before church started, I was visiting with someone on my left…and I felt someone sit down beside me on my right. Little kids from my Bible class did that often, so I didn’t think too much about it…and I kept talking with the woman on my left,

A woman behind me pecked me on the shoulder (our children’s first grade teacher) and said: “He hasn’t sat by you in a long time.” …meaning when he was a little boy. I looked and it was Wendell. He had come in from Texas and that was the one time that we were not expecting him. Wonderful memory.

Memory about our daughter:   One day I was telling her what a woman told me about our two kids and I learned a great lesson from my daughter that day. (Why do young people sometimes have more wisdom than we do???) This woman told me that “your kids grew up just like you trained them.” She was lamenting some of her’s…and when I told my daughter what she had said,  she quietly said: “Her’s did too!”

I was “taken aback”  when she first said that…but she was right. We are training them one way or another all the time they are growing up. I had never thought of that until she made that statement… But…it is only by God’s grace that our’s did. He defeated us in the things that would have been detrimental to our family and we were too ignorant to know that it would. We praise Him for that! Prayer, prayer, prayer…is the reason!

                                  

Wendell and grandson chillin’ out, 2011.

                                                                                                                        Cara Lynn reading to her nieces and nephew on  way to Branson,1988.