GROWING CORN

Posted on Updated on

I don’t think a person could grow corn and watch the stages it goes through closely, and not believe in God. Other things that grow show there is a God too, but corn…Ahhhhh! If you have room in your garden, grow corn!

The first year that I actually watched the stages it goes through, I was amazed. There it was….tall and green and beautiful, waving in the breeze.

But…the tassles came on (where the pollen is developed) and I thought the ears should be on there already so that the pollen could do its work. But there were no little ears of corn yet. I went back out the next day…no ears.

Several days in a row I went out and found no little ears of corn starting to grow. The pollen started getting a little dry, so I just marked that corn off as a loss for that year, because the little ears were not forming yet. I told my DH that I didn’t think our corn was going to make. He didn’t know that much about it either I guessed, because he didn’t say much.

The next day I went out and little tiny ears of corn were there but no silks to catch the pollen. I still marked if off as a loss of work and time.

The next day the silk was peeping out of the little ears, just in time for the pollen to dry up and fall. Just absolutely amazing that it does it at just the perfect time! And…did you know that each silk strand makes a kernel of corn on the cob???? YOU probably knew that….I didn’t!

Also did you know that some of the sweetness of the corn is in the silk? My DIL and I were putting corn in the freezer one year and for a while, we were very careful to get the silks off. (Quite a chore!) Finally we tasted one of the silks and it was so sweet. From then on we just left a few on there and we also got done a lot faster. LOL

We don’t have room to grow corn every year. We kinda have to rotate what we plant each year but this year we made room for it again.

Yes….the stages of growing corn really shows there is a Creator Of All Things, and there is nothing left to guess-work, supposition or accident. If you have room in your garden….grow corn!

“God Who made the world and all things therein, seeing that he is Lord of heaven and earth, dwelleth not in temples made with hands; Neither is worshipped with men’s hands, as though he needed any thing, seeing he giveth to all life, and breath, and all things…” Acts 17:24-25
 
 

 

Leave a Reply

