Child Care

Posted on Updated on

CHILD CARE

A little boy said, “Mommy,

Come read me a story or two;

And sit here beside me…

And teach me to tie my shoe.”

But she said, “Son, I am already late

For the Single Parents’ Club;

I really have to go and learn

How to take care of you.”

He was too young to realize

There was no logic there

But a tear ran down his little cheek,

‘Cause he thought she didn’t care.

“I will drop you off at the ‘Center’

And the ‘sitter’ will read to you;

And maybe she will have the time

To teach you to tie your shoe.”

The sad part of this story

Is not so hard to see;

When you multiply this little child…

By four million and thirty-three!

©Edna L. Ingram

 

Leave a Reply

