Skip to content
October 5, 2011 / familyties8

GIVING GIFTS

Wendell & Cara Lynn, ages 12 and 10.

 

Did you ever receive a gift from someone and the manner in which they gave it made you feel unhappy every time you looked at it? I once received a gift in that manner and I placed it up on a shelf, really intending to use it, but every day when I looked at it…I felt so sad. I could not forget the remark that was made as I was unwrapping it. It took the joy of using the gift away. It makes a person wonder if they gave you the gift just so they could get in a little ‘dig’. Probably not. The thoughts just come into our minds and we spurt them out without thinking. I finally just gave it away to someone who could enjoy it.

We were given a gift by our son and daughter on our 25th wedding anniversary. It was a silver platter with engraving on it. It was so beautiful and someone (not our children, or my DH) made a remark that was unnecesary and it would have been so much better left unsaid. I can’t part with that gift of course, but when I look at it, then too, comes the memory of that thoughtless remark. I can overlook it in this case though, because of the great love our children have for us in giving the gift.

I was thinking today of the gift of God’s Son, Jesus, and the ability that gift has to take all our sins away, if we will obey Him. (Psalm 103:12 As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us.) (KJV) There are a lot of sad thoughts and memories attached to it. He laid His life down willingly though, and there was so much love in that sacrifice that it is easy to forget the bad and just meditate on his great love for us.

I hope I have not ruined a gift for someone…especially this one…by remarks I have made. I hope I have learned to think before I speak and I just hope and pray that I will remember to think first.

I have a quote written in the back of a photo album: “Take care also, most diligently, to avoid those things in yourself which commonly displease you in others.” -Thomas A. Kempis

Isn’t this what the Bible is talking about in Romans 1:1? Therefore thou art inexcusable, O man, whosoever thou art that judgest: for wherein thou judgest another, thou condemnest thyself; for thou that judgest doest the same things.

Our son’s advice in the ‘Senior Scope’ to underclassmen when he graduated from highschool was: “Observe and learn from other people’s mistakes, so you won’t have to make all of them yourself.”  Pretty good advice for me today!  -Edna L. Ingram 

Leave a Reply

Thinking Through Scripture

"but the word of the Lord remains forever"

Life and Favor (Job 10:12)

Savoring each moment of Christian living

The Fellowship Room

... the blessing and fellowship of helping the saints. 2Co 8.4

Free Christadelphians: Belgian Ecclesia Brussel - Leuven

Thoughts and happenings around the Belgian Free Christadelphian Ecclesia Brussels-Leuven - Gedachten en gebeurtenissen rond de Ecclesia Brussel-Leuven van de Broeders in Christus

The Brenner Brief

Rendering the Mainstream Media Useless

Growing in your walk with Christ

Thoughts on spiritual growth, family life, and ministry

R16:16

...the churches of Christ greet you.

A View from the Nest

Random Ramblings of the Resident Raptor

Hallenbeck Thoughts

"But let us keep awake and be sober" (1 Thess. 5:6).

Bill's World

A blog of what is in my head - take it for what its worth!

Weylan Words

"It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known." --Dickens

A Preacher's Study

Articles, Sermons, and Devotionals by Jeremy Sprouse

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Come Fill Your Cup

A place for ladies to fill each others' spiritual cups.

Virtuous Woman...Virtuously

Strength and dignity are my clothing…albeit sometimes splattered with spit-up, smeared with flour, and smudged with sidewalk chalk.

Angela D. Ingram

Essays on Scripture, faith, community, and identity

2right2bleft

TRUTH -- Whether you like it or not!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

