Skip to content
March 30, 2011 / familyties8

TO MY CHILD, REVISED.

A PORTION OF…TO MY CHILD; REVISED:

 I read this from somewhere..and it was so very depressing to me,so I decided to revise just a portion of it.   It sounded like a parent looking for an excuse to fail their children!   My revision is in parenthesis and in green:

I gave you life but I cannot live it for you.

(We are going to do our best as examples so that you will have a good life.)

I can teach you things but I cannot make you learn.

 (We are going to make learning fun and worthwhile…so that you will excel.)

I can give you directions but I cannot always be there to lead you.

 (We are going to teach you God’s directions for youth, so that your values in spiritual matters can lead you right.)

I can allow you freedom but I cannot account for it.

(If I don’t train you in the way you should go, with freedom in Christ, It will be my fault for not doing my job, and I will give account.) Prov 22:6 and Ephesians 6:4

I can teach you right from wrong but I can’t always decide for you.

 (We are going to teach you God’s way and teach you to make your decisions with God as your Director).

I can give you love but I cannot force it upon you.

(I’m going to love you so dearly that you will always treasure it.)

I can teach you to share but I cannot make you unselfish.

(I will ‘TRAIN’ you to share and God’s Word will make you unselfish.)

I can let you babysit but I can’t be responsible for your actions.

 (Are you kidding me???) Parents are the ones responsible for their children’s actions! )

I can warn you about sins but I cannot make your morals.

 (If we live our lives according to God’s will, as your parents, only then if your values and morals echo ours, you will be ok, as we all follow Him.)

Revised by Edna Ingram…Note: Please do not use our family…and how our children turned out, to malign God’s Word. Proverbs 22:6 means just what it says even if our children turn out bad. God’s Word does not rely on us to prove how valid (or invalid) the Scripture is. If I didn’t believe that Proverbs 22:6 meant just what it says, then how could I believe Acts 2:38 and Mark 16:16?

Site Meter

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ruth Atnip / Mar 31 2011 1:46 am

    Dear Edna! That was excellent! Very enjoyable to read, and what a difference God in the lives of His children and in the lives of THEIR children! So good to have met you, and will look forward to our future posts and comments together on FB!

    • familyties8 / Mar 31 2011 8:16 am

      Thank you Ruth. I look forward to it also. I’m getting old and have seen 3 generations grow up, counting mine in with it. I’ve observed and learned so much. I always listened to advice…many today do not. A lady who had failed her children miserably (one was in jail for a long time and his children had been also) gave me advice (not the good kind) when my kids were small. I listened but chose not to follow it. Young parents today make the mistake of not listening to any. So tragic!

Leave a Reply

Thinking Through Scripture

"but the word of the Lord remains forever"

Life and Favor (Job 10:12)

Savoring each moment of Christian living

The Fellowship Room

... the blessing and fellowship of helping the saints. 2Co 8.4

Free Christadelphians: Belgian Ecclesia Brussel - Leuven

Thoughts and happenings around the Belgian Free Christadelphian Ecclesia Brussels-Leuven - Gedachten en gebeurtenissen rond de Ecclesia Brussel-Leuven van de Broeders in Christus

The Brenner Brief

Rendering the Mainstream Media Useless

Growing in your walk with Christ

Thoughts on spiritual growth, family life, and ministry

R16:16

...the churches of Christ greet you.

A View from the Nest

Random Ramblings of the Resident Raptor

Hallenbeck Thoughts

"But let us keep awake and be sober" (1 Thess. 5:6).

Bill's World

A blog of what is in my head - take it for what its worth!

Weylan Words

"It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known." --Dickens

A Preacher's Study

Articles, Sermons, and Devotionals by Jeremy Sprouse

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Come Fill Your Cup

A place for ladies to fill each others' spiritual cups.

Virtuous Woman...Virtuously

Strength and dignity are my clothing…albeit sometimes splattered with spit-up, smeared with flour, and smudged with sidewalk chalk.

Angela D. Ingram

Essays on Scripture, faith, community, and identity

2right2bleft

TRUTH -- Whether you like it or not!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

